Sunday, January 7, 2018

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - 2006-09-21 - 30th Anniversary Concert, Gainesville, FL (Update)

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
(with Special Guest Stevie Nicks)
30th Anniversary Concert,
O'Connell Center, University of Florida,
Gainesville, FL

FM Broadcast Recording, very good quality
Available in both Lossless (FLAC) and Mp3 (320 kbps) versions
(Update of previous post to now provide this show in lossless as well as mp3)

Continuing with our Tom Petty retrospective: After The Last DJ album and tour (2002-2003), Petty's next album project was another solo album, his third, and for this one he went back to his Traveling Wilburys co-hort, friend, and producer Jeff Lynne, who he had not worked with as a producer since Into The Great Wide Open (1991). And for this album, instead of using the Heartbreakers and other guest musicians, Petty, guitarist Mike Campbell, and Lynne actually played all the instruments on all the tracks. The result was Highway Companion (2006), another quality album, although perhaps not quite up to the heights of Full Moon Fever and Wildflowers, but a very good album nonetheless. Also during this time, Petty and the band were working with Filmmaker Peter Bogdanovich on a retrospective documentary chronicling the history of Petty and The Heartbreakers, to mark the 30th Anniversary of the band. The film culminated in what was designated as the 30th Anniversary Concert, held in Petty's hometown, Gainesville, FL, and which also featured Stevie Nicks as a special guest. This concert, which was broadcast live on the radio, and also filmed, was later included in some deluxe versions of the film on DVD box sets. The film was eventually released in 2007, titled Runnin' Down a Dream, premiered at the New York Film Festival, and had a running time of nearly 4 hrs. It is a great document of the band, contains many interviews and great concert footage, and actually needed the 4 hr runtime to do justice with the band and its history. Note: it was in making the documentary, and reliving all the old stories of the band, that rekindled Petty's interest in his original band Mudcrutch, and lead to him reviving Mudcrutch as his next musical project. So, anyway, here is the Gainesville 30th Anniversary concert (which I have posted previously, but now also available in a FLAC version). More info on the concert is available in the original post here. Notably, Petty only included one song, 'Saving Grace', from the newly released solo album (Highway Companion) at this or any of the other shows around this time, as he apparently wanted to highlight his history with the band, and other than Mike, the Heartbreakers were not included on the new album sessions. However, he did include several songs from his other solo albums, as well as other songs with Stevie. Overall, a fine show, and a very enthusiastic hometown crowd.

01 Intro
02 Listen To Her Heart
03 Mary Jane's Last Dance
04 I Won't Back Down
05 Free Fallin'
06 Saving Grace
07 I'm A Man
08 Oh Well
09 Handle With Care
10 Band Intros
11 Stevie Nicks Intro
12 Stop Draggin' My Heart Around (with Stevie Nicks)
13 I Need To Know (with Stevie Nicks)
14 It's Good To Be King
15 Songs About The South
16 Down South
17 Southern Accents
18 Insider (with Stevie Nicks)
19 Learning To Fly (Acoustic - with Stevie Nicks)
20 Don't Come Around Here No More (with Stevie Nicks)
21 Runnin' Down A Dream
22 You Wreck Me
23 Mystic Eyes
24 American Girl (with Stevie Nicks)

Tom Petty - Rhythm Guitar/Vocals
Mike Campbell - Lead Guitar
Benmont Tench - Keyboards
Steve Ferrone - Drums
Ron Blair - Bass
Scott Thurston - Various

Guest: Stevie Nicks - lead and background vocals

FLAC - Tom Petty_2006-09-21_Gainesville_FM_FLAC.rar

mp3 - Tom Petty_2006-09-21_Gainesville_FM_mp3.part1.rar
          Tom Petty_2006-09-21_Gainesville_FM_mp3.part2.rar
Links updated 01/25/2017


Lone Wolf said...

Thanks for the Petty and thanks for the clear explanation!

Guypinot said...

Thanks...however, as of about 1 pm US PST, the mp3 version is no longer downloadable. Especially since you say it is the clearer version, I'd love it if you could re-up!

BBKron said...


Sorry but that version is no longer available. I received a DMCA takedown notice for copyright infringement for it through Mega from Warner Music. I'm guessing that that version must have been taken directly from the DVD of the concert (unbeknownest to me, I thought it was just a really good broadcast recording), which is copyrighted. I think the FM broadcast recording (FLAC) is still OK to post here, as it was not taken down. Sorry for the confusion, i will post an mp3 version of the FM broadcast as soon as I can get to it. thanks.