Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Wilco - 2003-09-04 - McDonald Theater, Eugene OR

September 4, 2003
McDonald Theater, Eugene, OR

Soundboard recording, excellent quality
Available as both lossless (FLAC) and mp3 (320 kbps) versions

Here's some more from Wilco, this one a classic show from an earlier incarnation of the band, in 2003. This was an interesting period for the band, as they were coming off their most acclaimed and successful album, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (2002), yet it was also a period of turmoil and transition for the band. The making of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot was wrought with tension and problems, with Tweedy pursuing a more experimental direction and sound, resulting in the the replacement of drummer Ken Coomer with Glenn Kotche, and guitarist Jay Bennet also leaving over mounting disagreements with Tweedy over the album and direction of the band. Then when the album was finished, it was rejected by their record company, resulting in them leaving and taking the album to another company before its ultimate release. So, this show came during that transition period, after Bennett left, but while rhythm guitarist Leroy Bach was still there, new addition sound and keyboard guy Mikael Jorgensen had arrived, but it was before the future additions of multi-instrumentalist Pat Sansone and lead guitarist Nels Cline (in 2004) would complete the lineup that would remain for the next 10 years and beyond, as the current lineup.  Despite the turmoil in the band, this was a very productive period, and this particular show is considered a favorite among Wilco fans, both for the high sound quality of the soundboard recording, and the wonderful selection and performance of great songs at this show. Although this show was a few months before the band head to the studio to record their next album, A Ghost Is Born (2004), they previewed 5 new songs that would grace that album, as well as featuring songs from Yankee Hotel Foxtrot and numerous songs from their previous albums in a great Wilco performance and show.
01 Kingpin
02 I'm The Man Who Loves You
03 Poor Places
04 Reservations
05 I Am Trying To Break Your Heart
06 War On War
07 Should've Been In Love
08 Box Full Of Letters
09 At Least Thats What You Said
10 Jesus Etc.
11 Spiders (Kidsmoke)
12 One By One
13 California Stars
14 Handshake Drugs
15 Misunderstood
16 Far Far Away
17 Less Than You Think
18 Cars Cant Escape
19 How To Fight Loneliness
20 Not For The Season
21 I'm Always In Love
22 Casino Queen
23 Outtasite (Outta Mind)
24 Kicking Television
25 I'm A Wheel

Jeff Tweedy - lead vocals, rhythm and lead guitars
John Stirratt - bass, backing vocals
Leroy Bach - rhythym guitar, backing vocals
Glenn Kotche - drums, percussion
Mikael Jorgensen - samples, sound manipulation, keyboards

FLAC - Wilco_2003-09-04_Eugene OR_FLAC.rar

mp3 - Wilco_2003-09-04_Eugene OR_mp3.part1.rar
          Wilco_2003-09-04_Eugene OR_mp3.part2.rar

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Wilco - 2012-07-28 - Ommegang Brewery, Cooperstown, NY

July 28, 2012
Ommegang Brewery, Cooperstown NY

Audience recording, very good quality
Lossless (FLAC) files (24-bit/48khz)

Sorry for the delays in posting, but been away alot recently and just been very busy. But here is some more Wilco, this time from the Whole Love tour in 2012, and this is one that has been a favorite for this tour among Wilco fans (according to comments in, so check it out. The Whole Love (2011) album was a particular favorite of mine and it's cool to hear many of those songs performed here live, in addition to the many classic songs from their catalog. So, check out some more from Wilco.

01. Intro
02. Dawned On Me
03. War On War
04. I Might
05. Sunken Treasure
06. Either Way
07. Hummingbird
08. Impossible Germany
09. Born Alone
10. Not For The Seasons
11. What’s the World Got In Store
12. Handshake Drugs
13. The Whole Love
14. Kamera
15. Box Full of Letters
16. I’m Always In Love
17. Heavy Metal Drummer
18. I’m The Man Who Loves You
19. A  Shot In the Arm
20. (Encore Break)
21. Poor Places
22. Art of Almost
23. Standing O
24. (Encore Break)
25. Airline To Heaven
26. Hate It Here
27. I Can’t Stand It
28. Red Eyed and Blue
29. I Got You (At the End of the Century)
30. Outta Mind (Outta Sight)

Recorded with Edirol / Roland R-09HR digital recorder and Sony ECM-719 microphone.
Files acquired from the Live Wilco Archive:

Note: These Lossless (FLAC) Files are 24-bit/48khz, higher quality than the standard 16-bit/44.1 khz sampling rate used for CDs (and basis for mp3s). Because of this, I did not convert them and  make them available as mp3s, as this is a bit trickier with 24-bit sources and I just didn't want to mess with them. However, not all players can handle 24-bit FLAC files (although Winamp can). They can be converted using Audacity or several other media players/converters, if needed, but will sound best as is. Because these are 24-bit, however, the downloads are larger in size than usual (both parts combined=1.2 GB).