Sunday, October 30, 2016

Mudcrutch - 2016-06-20 - The Fillmore, San Francisco, CA

Fillmore Theater, San Francisco, CA
Audience recording, very good quality
Mp3 @320 kbps

Here's some more Tom Petty and Mudcrutch. This time, rather than their original older stuff, here is the current status of Mudcrutch on their recent 2016 US tour in support of their 2nd full album, Mudcrutch 2. Tom apparently had fun reuniting with his original band for an album in 2008, so he did it again in 2016 for another album, and this time with a full-scale, full-fledged tour. I've told the Mudcrutch story previously, so no need to go over that again, but this probably also could be considered as part of the collaborative tour series of late, as rather than being the full-time frontman, as with Petty and the Heartbreakers, with Mudcrutch Tom takes a step back and let's the rest of the band have their spotlight, with each member singing lead on at least one song on the new album, and Petty handling bass and letting others do most of the guitar work. And it all seems to work, as Mudcrutch has a different sound than the Heartbreakers, and they are free to go back and do more country-rock and old-time Rock 'n Roll, and just have a good time. For these live shows they have added Herb Pedersen, bluegrass instrumentalist extraordinaire (not a regular member of the band), to round out the sound. And it's a tribute to Petty that he is content to let Mudcrutch only do Mudcrutch songs (and oldies), and not try to squeeze in a few of Petty's own biggest hits into this band's setlist. This is a wonderfully fun show and very good recording, with a few extra songs from other shows from this tour thrown in to round out the recording.

1. Shady Grove
2. Orphan of the Storm
3. Six Days on the Road
4. Scare Easy
5. Trailer
6. This Is a Good Street
7. Lover of the Bayou
8. Beautiful World
9. Dreams of Flying
10.Save Your Water
11.Hungry No More/I Forgive It All
12.Knockin' on Heaven's Door
13.The Other Side of the Mountain
15.Welcome to Hell
16.Victim of Circumstance
17.The Wrong Thing to Do
18.Bootleg Flyer
20.Crystal River
21.Bo Diddley
Bonus Tracks:
22. You Aint Goin Nowhere (2016-06-10 - Webster Hall - New York)
23. Carol (2016-05-31 - Ryman Theater, Nashville)
24. House of Stone (2016-05-28 - Riviera Theatre - Chicago)
25. Rainy Day Women #12 and 35 (2016-05-28 - Riviera Theatre - Chicago)
26. High School Confidential (2016-05-28 - Riviera Theatre - Chicago)

Mike Campbell - lead guitar
Tom Leadon - rhythm guitar, backing & lead vocals
Randall Marsh - drums
Herb Pedersen- Guitar and Banjo
Tom Petty - lead & backing vocals, bass guitar
Benmont Tench - keyboards, backing & lead vocals

Mudcrutch_2016-06-20_San Francisco_mp3.part1.rar
Mudcrutch_2016-06-20_San Francisco_mp3.part2.rar
Link updated 12/11/2019

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Bob Dylan with Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers - 1986-06-12 - Sacramento, CA

Bob Dylan with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
June 12, 1986
Cal Expo Amphitheatre, Sacramento, CA
True Confessions Tour
Audience recording (from 1st gen. cassette), good sound quality
Available in both Lossless (FLAC) and mp3 (320 kbps) versions

Continuing with the Collaborative Tours theme, and sticking with Dylan, as he has been known to be involved with some very interesting combinations over the years (w/The Band, The Grateful Dead, etc.), here's a great combination tour that that goes back a ways, to 1986, when Dylan teamed up with Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, for the True Confessions tour. For this tour, Tom and the Boys served as Bob's back-up band, as well as taking the spotlight with some of their own songs. If that seems like a really good match-up, well it is. Note that this was still a few years before Dylan joined Petty (along with George Harrison,  Jeff Lynne, and Roy Orbison) as The Traveling Wilburys, so this is all pure Dylan and Petty stuff, and wonderful it is. This show is from early in the tour, in Sacramento, and although there are some better recordings available from this tour, most of those are not complete shows. Here we have the complete show, and a very good (but not great) audience recording. So, check out Bob and Tom, and the Rest of the Heartbreakers in this unique tour and show.

Dylan w/Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers backing
1. So Long, Good Luck And Goodbye (Weldon Rogers)
2. Positively 4th Street
3. Clean Cut Kid
4. I'll Remember You
5. Shot Of Love
6. We Had It All (Donny Fritts-Troy Seals)
7. Masters Of War
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
8. Straight Into Darkness
9. I Need to Know
10. The Waiting
11. Refugee
Dylan - Acoustic set
12. To Ramona (solo)
13. It Ain't Me, Babe (solo)
14. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall (solo)
15. I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know (Cecil A. Null) (w/Petty&Heartbreakers)
16. Lenny Bruce (w/Petty&Heartbreakers)
Dylan & Full Band
17. I'm Moving On (Hank Snow)
18. When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky
19. Lonesome Town (Baker Knight)
20. Ballad Of A Thin Man
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
21. So You Want To Be A Rock & Roll Star (R. McGuinn/C. Hillman)
22. Spike
23. Breakdown
24. Bye Bye Johnny (Chuck Berry)
Dylan w/ Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
25. Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35
26. Seeing The Real You At Last
27. I And I
28. Like A Rolling Stone
29. In The Garden
30. Blowin' In The Wind
31. Happy Birthday (trad.)/Rock With Me Baby (John Lee Hooker)
32. Knockin' On Heaven's Door

mp3 - Dylan-Petty_1986-06-12_Sacramento_mp3.part1.rar

FLAC - Dylan-Petty_1986-06-12_Sacramento_FLAC.part1.rar