Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Joe Jackson - 2010-11-07 - Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Joe Jackson Trio
Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Audience recording, very good quality
mp3 @ 320 kbps

After more than 30 years since his Look Sharp! debut, Joe Jackson is still going strong. Joe has greatly diversified his sound over the years, exploring various aspects of jazz, classical, film soundtracks, pop, and rock, and with many different band arrangements and configurations. In 2002, he got back together with his original 4-piece band (Graham Maby-bass, Gary Sanford-guitar, and Dave Houghton-drums), resulting in Volume 4 (2003, following after the 1st 3 albums made with this lineup, Look Sharp!, I'm The Man, and Beat Crazy, 1979-1980, before moving on) and a subsequent tour. Joe stayed with this arrangement for awhile, until in 2007, he dropped Gary Sanford and his guitar, and continued as a Trio. Joe's live shows have always been musical events, as he is constantly experimenting, re-arranging, and improvising through his selections of his own and others classic tracks. This trio show from 2010 demonstrates this very effectively, as Joe features new versions of old hits, and unique cover versions, with an overall jazzier sound and feel. If you like this, you should definitely check out Joe's brand new live album, Live Music (available for sale here), which uses selected tracks taken from the very same European tour as this show. So, here's to Joe Jackson, from 1979 to 2010 and beyond.

1. It's Different For Girls - solo
2. Tomorrow's World
3. Too Tough
4. Fools In Love
5. The Uptown Train
6. Anyone Who Had a Heart (Bacharach)
7. Chinatown
8. Another World
9. Sunday Papers
10. Girl (Beatles) - solo
11. Be My Number Two - solo
12. Can We Still Be Friends (Rundgren)
13. Invisible Man
14. Inbetweenies (Ian Dury)
15. Take It Like A Man
16. Is She Really Going Out With Him?
17. Got the Time
18. Music To Watch Girls By (Williams)
19. Steppin' Out
20. Home Town (solo)

Joe Jackson Trio:
Joe Jackson - vocals, piano, synthesizer, melodica
Graham Maby - bass, backing vocals
Dave Houghton - drums, percussion, backing vocals

New Link! (Updated 12/23/13)

1 comment:

Jeff said...

Thanks for posting these, and the B Folds material, it's great.