Sunday, August 15, 2010

Buffalo Springfield - The Missing Herd (Live, outtakes, rarities compilation)

Buffalo Springfield
The Missing Herd
(2-CD compilation of demos, outtakes and live rarities)

Varying quality recordings, mostly very good
Lossless (FLAC) files
Artwork is included.

OK now, we can't bring up Neil Young, Stephen Stills, and Richie Furay's Poco, without hearing from the group that started it all, the great Buffalo Springfield, can we? Although Buffalo Springfield seems to be known primarily for what followed from their members (CSN(&Y), Young solo, Loggins & Messina, Poco, etc.), let's not forget that Buffalo Springfield was a great band themselves, pioneers and innovators of all that followed, yes, but also just a great band regardless. They were very diverse, encompassing all of the country, rock, folk, pop, and psychedelic influences in a strange and unique blend, and while they only were together for a period of about 2 years total, produced many all-time classic tracks and jams. Here is an excellent bootleg compilation (1 disc of live tracks, 1 disc of outtakes & rarities), titled The Missing Herd, which was compiled to be a companion to the officially-released 4-CD Buffalo Springfield Box Set, released in 2001. Thus, it is subtitled Vols 5 & 6 (to follow the 4 official CDs - please don't ask where are the first 4 volumes), this is the complete Missing Herd compilation. Enjoy.

Disc 1:
The Missing Herd: Vol. 5 Livestock (Live tracks) (Subtitled Vol 5 because was designed as a companion to the official four-CD Springfield box set).
01 Introduction 0:41
02 Go and Say Goodbye 2:40
03 Mr. Soul 6:27
04 Bluebird 9:18
05 Pay the Price 5:32
06 Nobody's Fool 4:11
07 My Kind of Love 4:21
08 Good Time Boy 3:32
09 For What It's Worth 3:30
10 Rock 'n' Roll Woman 4:13
11 A Child's Claim To Fame 2:36
12 Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing 4:50
13 Uno Mundo 2:32
14 For What It's Worth 3:30
15 Bluebird 12:13
16 Epilogue: On the Way Home 2:14

Tracks 1, 8, 9: Long Beach Arena, Long Beach, Calif. 5/5/68
Tracks 2 - 7: Teen and Twenty Club, Huntingdon Beach, Calif. 8/11,12/67
Tracks 10 - 15: Market Hall, Dallas 4/20/68
Track 16: Fillmore Auditorium, San Francisco 12/67

Disc 2:
The Missing Herd: Vol. 6 Do Not Approach Buffalo (Demos, outtakes, alternate takes, etc)
01 Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing (demo) 3:00
02 Do I Have to Come Right Out and Say It (alt) 3:08
03 "Raga 1" (unreleased) 1:29
04 Mr. Soul (alternate take) 2:40
05 My Kind of Love (alt) 2:33
06 For What It's Worth (Smothers Brothers) 2:58
07 Down to the Wire (alt) 2:31
08 Bluebird (extended mix) 9:11
09 Sell Out (demo) 2:36
10 For What It's worth (Monterey Pop 1967) 2:57
11 Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing (Monterey Pop 1967) 3:33
12 Rock 'n' Roll Woman (Monterey Pop 1967) 4:06
13 Bluebird (Monterey Pop 1967) 4:24
14 A Child's Claim to Fame (Monterey Pop 1967) 2:00
15 Merry Go Round (alt mix) 2:07
16 Uno Mundo (alt mix) 2:06
17 49 Reasons (demo) 2:32
18 Roads of Plenty (barn rehearsals 1988) 4:22
19 Stills Boogie (barn rehearsals 1988) 3:29
20 Bluebird (extended mix, alt) 9:30

(Vol 6 collects mostly demos, alternate takes and outtakes. Five songs are from the Monterey Pop Festival performance. Unreleased songs include Sellout, Raga 1, Road Of Plenty and Stills Boogie. There are two different nine-minute versions of Bluebird, featuring long jams.)

New Link! (Updated 08/28/14)
Disc 1 (vol.5):
Disc 2 (vol.6): Buffalo Springfield_Missing Herd Vol.6_FLAC.rar


wardo said...


Lone Red Rider said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Lone Red Rider said...

Glad you have enjoyed this set!

Mark said...

I got CD1, but CD2 has been removed. Can we get a new link? Thanks.

BBKron said...

Thanks Mark,

New link for CD2 now posted (Mega).

Unknown said...

Mega is a BULLSHIT site, 12 attempts and always stops at 99%

leesa said...

Thanx so much for this!

Unknown said...

thank you