Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Neil Young - 2008 European Summer Tour 4-CD Compilation

2008 European Summer Tour 4-CD Compilation (Rustbucket)
Artwork Included

Continuing with some great compilations of live Neil Young, Here is a more recent one, which features the best available version of every song performed on the 2008 Summer Tour, presented here in lossless FLAC files. Enjoy!

Compiler's notes:
This is a compilation of every song from the 2008 European summer festival tour. I've compared each version of every song from all the recordings I have (nearly all of them!) and picked the best version to my ears. I'm no expert on recording equipment so I have no idea what the difference is between the mics the tapers use, what quality they are or even how much they cost. I don't care as long as the end result sounds good, so I'll leave the expertise to the tapers!

A Rustbucket production!

Disc 1 (79:39)
101 Love And Only Love 2008-06-30 Cork, Ireland
102 Hey Hey My My 2008-06-30 Cork, Ireland
103 Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere 2008-07-08 Leipzig, Germany
104 Spirit Road 2008-07-08 Leipzig, Germany
105 Cinnamon Girl 2008-07-08 Leipzig, Germany
106 All Along the Watchtower 2008-07-08 Leipzig, Germany
107 Powderfinger 2008-08-21 Zurich, Switzerland
108 Cortez the Killer 2008-08-21 Zurich, Switzerland
109 Down By the River 2008-07-11 Weert, Netherlands

Disc 2 (44:37)
201 Mr Soul 2008-07-11 Weert, Netherlands
202 Dirty Old Man 2008-06-23 Verona, Italy
203 Fuckin Up 2008-07-09 Oberhausen, Germany
204 Time Fades Away 2008-07-09 Oberhausen, Germany
205 Too Far Gone 2008-06-23 Verona, Italy
206 fuck the rock n rollers 2008-06-25 Lyon, France
207 Oh Lonesome Me 2008-08-28 Horsens, Denmark
208 For the Turnstiles 2008-07-11 Weert, Nrtherland
209 I've Been Waiting For You 2008-08-19 Berlin, Germany
210 When You Dance I Can Really Love 2008-07-04 Werchter, Belgium

Disc 3 (54:24)
301 Helpless 2008-08-23 coberg, Germany
302 Mother Earth 2008-07-08 Leipzig, Germany
303 The Needle and the Damage Done 2008-07-11 Weert, Netherlands
304 Wrecking Ball 2008-08-15 Colmar, France
305 Unknown Legend 2008-08-23 Coberg, Germany
306 Heart Of Gold 2008-08-23 Coberg, Germany
307 Old Man 2008-08-23 Coberg, Germany
308 Get Back To the Country 2008-08-11 Oslo, Norway
309 Winterlong 2008-07-08 Leipzig, Germany
310 Just Singing A Song 2008-08-11 Oslo, Norway
311 Sea Change 2008-08-11 Oslo, Norway
312 Strange Things Happen/When Worlds Collide 2008-08-23 Coberg, Germany

Disc 4 (70:52)
401 Cowgirl In The Sand 2008-08-23 Coberg, Germany
402 Words 2008-06-30 Cork, Ireland
403 No Hidden Path 2008-06-30 Cork, Ireland
404 Rockin' In the Free World 2008-08-21 Zurich, Switzerland
405 A Day In the Life 2008-07-08 Leipzig, Germany

The Electric Band line-up:

Neil Young - guitar, harmonica, pump organ, vocals
Ben Keith - pedal steel, lap steel, guitar, organ, background vocals
Rick Rosas - bass
Chad Cromwell - drums
Anthony Crawford - background vocals, piano, guitar, bells
Pegi Young - background vocals, vibraphone, piano, guitar
Larry Cragg - banjo

A Rustbucket Production!

New Links! (Updated 05/11/12)
disc 1:

disc 2:

disc 3:

disc 4:


Anonymous said...

Thanks for a great post of Neil Young...hes still going strong and rockun!!!

edgarholland said...

thanks for all the great music, I have the NY 1999 tour comp, how can I get it to you