Monday, May 25, 2015

They Might Be Giants - 1985 Demo Tape

They Might Be Giants
1985 Demo Tape (First recordings)

Soundboard recordings, very good quality
mp3 @ 320 kbps

Here's  more from TMBG, this time going back to the very beginning of the band. This is a collection of demo recordings that were never officially released commercially, but were sold by the band as a cassette tape at their early shows in 1985-1986. Most of the tracks would later appear (in re-recorded versions) on the band's first official album, They Might be Giants (pink album) later in 1986, a few others on their second album, Lincoln, in 1987, and a few more that did not make it on any album. It's interesting to hear these earlier versions of some familiar TMBG songs. In some cases, the versions of the songs were re-recorded with almost the exact same arrangemet, instrumentation, etc. as these early versions, while some songs were re-arranged or done quite differently. Anyway, here's a look back at the very early days of the band (a duo, really), and their convoluted oddities and original weirdness.

01. (Put Your Hand Inside the) Puppet Head
02. When It Rains It Snows
03. Number Three
04. Don't Let's Start
05. You'll Miss Me
06. I Hope that I Get Old Before I Die
07. The Biggest One
08. 32 Footsteps
09. Boat of Car
10. Cowtown
11. Chess Piece Face
12. Rabid Child
13. Youth Culture Killed My Dog
14. Alienation's for the Rich
15. The Day
16. (She Was a) Hotel Detective
17. Which Describes How You're Feeling
18. Toddler Hi-Way
19. Become a Robot
20. I'm Def
21. Hell Hotel
22. They Might Be Giants
23. Nothing's Going to Change My Clothes

They Might Be Giants_1985 Demo Tape.rar

No comments: